Category Archives for "Episodes"

EP362: Simon Beckett — All Change

International bestselling author Simon Beckett returns to the podcast to tell us about his new novel The Lost, in which he starts a whole new series. He offers tips on character, tension, and how to develop a great thriller. And the two Marks discuss how theme and endings can help you when you’re stuck, and […]

Continue reading

EP361: Daniel Rigby — Just Start Doing It

BAFTA-award winning actor Daniel Rigby tells us about his Audible original debut Isaac Steele and the Forever Man and how his background in comedy and improvisation helped create his protagonist and his extraordinary world. . . . . . In this episode you will discover: Letting ideas marinade (sometimes for years) and why it’s okay […]

Continue reading

EP360: A Christmas Special with the Two Marks

Join the Two Marks in a Christmas special where they invited their listeners to share their favourite Christmas books and gifts. They dive into the most-loved books, annuals, games, bikes, cuddly toys, dolls and discover how these gifts have shaped us all as writers. We also resolve the Sindy versus Barbie debate once and for […]

Continue reading

EP359: Mia Kuzniar — Make Something Happen

Sunday Times bestselling author Mia Kuzniar brings some light to the bleak midwinter with her wonderful new novel Midnight in Everwood. She discusses how ballet and the Nutcracker Suite influenced her new book and how she moves between adventure stories for children and fairy tales for adults. She also tells us how an 18-month break […]

Continue reading

EP356: Lisa Hall — A Dagger in my Heart

Bestselling author Lisa Hall tells us about her new novel The Woman in the Woods, which adds a dash of the supernatural to her page-turning thriller style. Lisa talks about setting a book in a real place, starting with the twist, how thinking the worst inspires her, the cruelty of rejection and how to cope […]

Continue reading

EP355: JK Ellem — Think of the Long Game

JK Ellem writes cutting edge thrillers including the Ravenwood series, which was never supposed to be a series, but his readers wanted more. JK takes us through his career, how his writing process has developed over time, and how he’s benefitted from listening to his readers, going where the success is and following the muse […]

Continue reading
1 3 4 5 6 7 44